Day 31 & 32 – Prague to Berlin

IMGP1198 Well Prague has to be my favourite city so far. Its breathtakingly beautiful and the people aren’t twits. What more could you ask for?

I decided I’d try one of these free tours that they advertise on the free maps they have lying around the hostel. Since I didn’t know a whole lot about Prague or what there was to see I thought it would be an easy way to see the sights without having to go to too much trouble myself. I’m lazy you know.

So I arrived up at the meeting point a little early. There was another guy from another tour company standing in the spot that the one in my brochure picks up from. His tour started at 10:30am where mine was to start at 11am (sneaky bugger). Unfortunately for him he didn’t get any takers for his tour so he left promptly on the dot of 10:30am mid sentence while I was talking to him. Maybe that’s why you’re not getting any takers? Silly American. Anyway these tours are ‘free’ because the guides work on tips. Shame I don’t tip then hey? 😀

IMGP1224 So the walking tour got going eventually. Quite a lot of people showed up for this one. Enough to split us into two large groups. Unfortunately I got the overly (and I mean overly) enthusiastic one which made it a bit hard to take in the information she was dishing out while struggling not to just quietly blend with the crowd and leave the tour.

Between the bad jokes and overly loud presentation (think that guy from police academy that had the weird voice. You know that one that was all screechy and stuff. The red haired guy. I think it was in Police Academy 2 or 3. Its been a long time. I forget his name. How many did they end up making? Oh right the tour) I was able to glean some information about Prague that I didn’t already know. Mostly they don’t like to fight and are pretty passive people. They had one day of freedom after WWII before the Russians came and set up the communist shop and they really liked Mozart.

Back to the city itself. Its a really beautiful place. After finishing the tour I went back to the hostel for a bit. Unfortunately the weather had turned bad and went to escape it for a bit. The sun came out again in the afternoon and I went out and revisited a few places from the tour and also went back up to the castle to catch the night time view up close.

IMGP1206 As the sun went down and they turned the lights on (I got to see up close where they hide all the lights) the place just starts to glow. These Czechs really know how to illuminate a building. I walked back down through the castle to the streets below and back across the Charles IV bridge taking some night shots as I went.  I really wish I bought a new camera before I came on this trip. Mine is just not cut out for night time shots. I think I managed to grab a few good ones. More by fluke than any skill.

Again I surprised myself with how long I’d been out wandering around and headed back to the hostel. I was planning on taking a morning train to Berlin.

The next morning I headed over to the train station and hoped the next train heading to Berlin. It was a long slow trip for some reason. Might have been because my laptop ran out of juice about halfway. Then the temperature dropped and I was freezing my bits off in my t-shirt and shorts. Low and behold I arrive in Berlin to dreary, rainy weather and the hard task of finding my hostel ahead of me.

IMGP1274 The location of the hostel as marked on hostelbookers was wrong so I spent a good 45min walking around in the drizzling rain trying to find the place that just didn’t exist as on the map. I finally worked out the stations were wrong and walked about 2kms back to the other station to find the hostel. Which is pretty much where I’ve stayed. The weather is crap outside, you can’t see anything for rain and fog plus its cold. Hopefully it will be better tomorrow. I might try another free tour.

Leave a Reply

